Turkish mine engineer: risks were not properly assessed

The operator of a Turkish mine where an explosion has claimed more than 280 lives said on Friday the disaster was not due to negligence on its part. But for Muzaffer Köse, a mine engineer, "the risks were not sufficiently assessed." Duration: 00:48 May 16, 2014

Syria: government returns to ruined Homs

The writing is on the walls of Homs, telling the story of the siege of this central Syrian city once dubbed the "capital of the revolution" against President Bashar al-Assad. Duration: 01:03 May 16, 2014

Torronts - Argentina's white wine

In the Salta region, in northern Argentina, is a wine that is produced virtually nowhere else: Torrontés. Duration: 02:06 May 16, 2014

UN warns of human rights abuses in Ukraine

The United Nations warned Friday of an "alarming deterioration" of human rights in eastern Ukraine, where an armed insurgency by pro-Russian separatists is threatening a presidential election just over a week away. Duration: 01:10 May 16, 2014

Meeting between Netanyahu and Cuck Hagel

US Defence Secretary Chuck Hagel said to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu that America do every they must to insure that Iran does not get a nuclear weapon. Duration: 00:36 May 16, 2014

Russian rocket falls back to Earth after liftoff

A Russian Proton rocket carrying an advanced communication satellite fell back to Earth on Friday shortly after liftoff in the latest accident to hit the country's once-proud space industry. Duration: 00:43 May 16, 2014

Rahul Gandhi wins Amethi seat defeating BJP and AAP

Amethi, May 16 (ANI): Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi won in his Amethi constituency in Lok Sabha Polls. Rahul won with a margin of nearly 1.07 lakh votes defeating BJP’s Smriti Irani and AAP’s Kumar Vishwas. Gandhi had won the seat in 2009 by a margin of over 3.70 lakh votes. The Amethi battle seemed tough with strong candidates put up by all the major parties. Although Congress Party has observed a poor performance in these General Elections, party’s President Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi have managed to grab their constituencies. May 16, 2014

Poll Trends (9 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 9 PM shows BJP winning in 217 seats while the Congress is winning in 34 seats. May 16, 2014

Poll Trends (8 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 8 PM shows BJP winning in 188 seats while the Congress is winning in 30 seats. May 16, 2014
Narendra Modi 's selfie with mother has now gone viral.

Modi Selfie with Mother Inches to Million 'Likes'

The soon-to-be Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the man who gave Bharatiya Janata Party one of its biggest wins ever, tweeted a selfie with his mother this afternoon that has now gone viral. May 16, 2014

Modi thanks people for supporting BJP in his victory rally

Vadodara, May 16 (ANI): BJP’s PM candidate Narendra Modi on Friday addressed a victory rally in Vadodara thanking all voters to make him win by clear majority. Modi referred to the highest vote count in Vadodara which has made history in these General Elections. He also thanked the people of Varanasi to vote for him even when he could not address them personally. May 16, 2014

Election Results 2014: I will not congratulate Modi, not an opportunist, says Lalu

Patna, May 16 (ANI): RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Friday said that he cannot congratulate BJP’s Prime Minesterial candidate Narendra Modi as he is not an opportunist. In an embarrassment to the Lalu Prasad Yadav, his wife, Rabri Devi, and his daughter Misa Bharti lost elections to the Lok Sabha from Saran and Patliputra parliamentary constituencies, respectively. May 16, 2014

LS Polls 2014: Naveen Patnaik thanks voters for victory

Bhubaneswar, May 16 (ANI): Odisha seems to have bucked Modi wave as Naveen Patnaik juggernaut ran over opposition Congress and BJP helping Biju Janata Dal to a record 4th consecutive win in simultaneous assembly and Lok Sabha polls. May 16, 2014

LS Polls 2014: Mehbooba Mufti thanks voters for victory

Srinagar, May 16 (ANI): In a major setback to National Conference (NC) and Congress, the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) defeated the coalition of NC Congress with clean sweep and won all three seats in Kashmir. May 16, 2014