Six Nations 2016 captains trophy
All six teams will fancy their chances of lifting the Six Nations 2016 trophyReuters

With the World Cup title going to the Southern Hemisphere again, it is back to the Six Nations scrap for the Northern Hemisphere teams as the 2016 edition of the tournament kicks off this weekend.

England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Italy and France will battle it out to be crowned the Northern Hemisphere champions, with Ireland looking to win the title for the third consecutive year.

The Irish might have had a disappointing World Cup last year, but they will fancy their chances again of clinching the Six Nations crown, even if it will be far from easy, considering the other five teams will think along the same lines as well.

France vs Italy will kick the Six Nations off on Saturday afternoon, before the Calcutta Cup takes centre-stage when England, with a new coach in Eddie Jones, pay a visit to Edinburgh to face Scotland.

"We are short on time, but I fully believe that we are capable of winning the 6 Nations, and we can put in the work and get ourselves ready," new England captain Chris Laidlaw said at the tournament launch.

Wales are another team who will wonder what might have been regarding the World Cup as they suffered injury after injury, but with Warren Gatland still at the helm, you do fancy the team's chances in this 6 Nations.

Brian O'Driscoll certainly thinks Wales are the favourites, with the Ireland legend believing Wales are even capable of completing the Grand Slam – winning every single match.

"I think Wales are probably favourites," O'Driscoll told ITV. "With many of their injured players returning having missed the RWC they have the most settled and experienced squad. I don't think the Grand Slam will be won this year, though if it is, it'll be them."

Six Nations 2016 schedule: Round 1: Saturday, 6 February: France vs Italy (2.25 pm GMT, 3.25 pm CET, 7.55 pm IST) at Stade de France in Paris.

Scotland vs England (4.50 pm GMT, 5.50 pm CET, 10.20 pm IST) at Murrayfield in Edinburgh.

Sunday, 7 February: Ireland vs Wales (3 pm GMT, 4 pm CET, 8.30 pm IST) at Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Round 2: Saturday, 13 February: France vs Ireland (2.25 pm GMT, 3.25 pm CET, 7.55 pm IST) at Stade de France in Paris.

Wales vs Scotland (4.50 pm GMT, 5.50 pm CET, 10.20 pm IST) at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Sunday, 14 February: Italy vs England (3 pm GMT, 4 pm CET, 8.30 pm IST) at Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

Round 3: Friday, 26 February: Wales vs France (8.05 pm GMT, 9.05 pm CET, 1.35 am IST) at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Saturday, 27 February: Italy vs Scotland (2.25 pm GMT, 3.25 pm CET, 7.55 pm IST) at Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

England vs Ireland (4.50 pm GMT, 5.50 pm CET, 10.20 pm IST) at Twickenham in London.

Round 4: Saturday, 12 March: Ireland vs Italy (1.30 pm GMT, 2.30 pm CET, 7 pm IST) at Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

England vs Wales (4 pm GMT, 5 pm CET, 9.30 pm IST) at Twickenham in London.

Sunday, 13 March: Scotland vs France (3 pm GMT, 4 pm CET, 8.30 pm IST) at Murrayfield in Edinburgh.

Round 5: Saturday, 19 March: Wales vs Italy (2.30 pm GMT, 3.30 pm CET, 8 pm IST) at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Ireland vs Scotland (5 pm GMT, 6 pm CET, 10.30 pm IST) at Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

France vs England (8 pm GMT, 9 pm CET, 1.30 am IST) at Stade de France in Paris.

TV listings: India: No TV coverage. UK and Ireland: BBC, ITV and RTE. France: FR 2. Italy: DMAX. USA and Canada: Bein Sports and TV5 Monde. Latin America and Australia: ESPN. New Zealand: Sky Sport. Singapore: Singtel. Hong Kong and Japan: TV5 Monde.

Also read