Poll Trends (7 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 7 PM shows BJP winning in 152 seats while the Congress is winning in 23 seats. May 16, 2014

LS Polls 2014: Mehbooba Mufti thanks voters for victory

Srinagar, May 16 (ANI): In a major setback to National Conference (NC) and Congress, the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) defeated the coalition of NC Congress with clean sweep and won all three seats in Kashmir. May 16, 2014

LS Polls 2014: Naveen Patnaik thanks voters for victory

Bhubaneswar, May 16 (ANI): Odisha seems to have bucked Modi wave as Naveen Patnaik juggernaut ran over opposition Congress and BJP helping Biju Janata Dal to a record 4th consecutive win in simultaneous assembly and Lok Sabha polls. May 16, 2014

Election Results 2014: I will not congratulate Modi, not an opportunist, says Lalu

Patna, May 16 (ANI): RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Friday said that he cannot congratulate BJP’s Prime Minesterial candidate Narendra Modi as he is not an opportunist. In an embarrassment to the Lalu Prasad Yadav, his wife, Rabri Devi, and his daughter Misa Bharti lost elections to the Lok Sabha from Saran and Patliputra parliamentary constituencies, respectively. May 16, 2014

Modi thanks people for supporting BJP in his victory rally

Vadodara, May 16 (ANI): BJP’s PM candidate Narendra Modi on Friday addressed a victory rally in Vadodara thanking all voters to make him win by clear majority. Modi referred to the highest vote count in Vadodara which has made history in these General Elections. He also thanked the people of Varanasi to vote for him even when he could not address them personally. May 16, 2014

Poll Trends (8 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 8 PM shows BJP winning in 188 seats while the Congress is winning in 30 seats. May 16, 2014

Poll Trends (9 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 9 PM shows BJP winning in 217 seats while the Congress is winning in 34 seats. May 16, 2014

Rahul Gandhi wins Amethi seat defeating BJP and AAP

Amethi, May 16 (ANI): Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi won in his Amethi constituency in Lok Sabha Polls. Rahul won with a margin of nearly 1.07 lakh votes defeating BJP’s Smriti Irani and AAP’s Kumar Vishwas. Gandhi had won the seat in 2009 by a margin of over 3.70 lakh votes. The Amethi battle seemed tough with strong candidates put up by all the major parties. Although Congress Party has observed a poor performance in these General Elections, party’s President Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi have managed to grab their constituencies. May 16, 2014

Hindu nationalist party wins Indian general election

As early election results show Narendra Modi is on track for a landslide victory, a political analyst says the Hindu nationalist won't be able to meet the country's 'sky-high expectations'. Duration: 01:24 May 16, 2014

Protests, strikes hit Brazil 28 days from World Cup

Brazil faced a test of its security preparations for the World Cup on Thursday as demonstrators aghast at the cost of the event joined protests and strikes in several major cities. Duration: 00:44 May 16, 2014

Nandan Nilekani accepts defeat, says will continue to work for Bangalore

Bangalore, May 16 (ANI): Karnataka has voted with a vengeance and ousted the Congress party. Bangalore South witnessed a close fight between BJP's Ananth Kumar and Congress's Nandan Nilekani who lost by a narrow margin of over 27,000 votes. Nilekani accepted his defeat and said that he will continue to work for Bangalore. May 16, 2014

VK Singh wins Ghaziabad seat, says will work for betterment

Ghaziabad, May 16 (ANI): BJP leader VK Singh on Friday said that he had always been confident of BJP's victory. He also said that the party will decide on how to function from now on. Singh further said that he will work towards the betterment of his region so that the people of Ghaziabad feel satisfied. May 16, 2014

Poll Trends (4 pm)

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): Poll trends as of 4 PM shows BJP leading in 255 seats while the Congress leading in 39 seats. Other parties including AAP are following with minimal seats as the counting is underway signaling an inclination towards BJP. May 16, 2014