The nominees for the 88th Academy Awards will be announced on Thursday, 14 January.
The nominees for the 88th Academy Awards will be announced on Thursday, 14 January.Facebook/The Academy

The 88th Academy Awards is just over a month away, and now that the Golden Globes 2016 just got over, all hardcore movie-fans have a vague idea about how the Oscars will go. Regardless, the official nominees announcement is yet to be made, and that will confirm or deny most our guesses for the Academy Award winners of 2016.

The Oscar 2016 nominees will be announced by "The Office" start John Krasinski, Oscar nominated director, writer and producer Guillermo del Toro, Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs and two-time Oscar winning director and producer Ang Lee. The announcements will be made from the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills on Thursday, 14 January, at 5:30 am (PST) [8:30 am (EST), 7 pm (IST)].

The nominees in the categories -- Animated Feature Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Cinematography, Documentary Short Subject, Costume Design, Live Action Short Film, Documentary Feature, Animated Short Film, Makeup and Hairstyling and Original Song – will be announced by del Toro and Lee. Those announcements are expected to be wrapped up by 5:38 am (PST) [8:38 am (EST), 7:08 pm (IST)].

Krasinki and Boone Isaacs will take over the stage from Ang Lee and del Toro to announce the nominees for categories -- Adapted and Original Screenplays, Foreign Language Film, Best Picture, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Original Score, Best Director, Film Editing, Visual Effects, Production Design, Best Actor and Best Actress.

Do not forget to check IB Times India Edition's predicitons for the Oscar 2016 nominations and see how many we got right. 

Watch the Oscars 2016 nominees announcement live via the official Oscars YouTube Channel or Oscar.org website. You can also live-stream the video below, starting 7 pm (IST): 

Also read