OnePlus Loop VR for Re. 1 in India: 30,000 units sold in less than 5 seconds; how to get one now?
OnePlus Loop VR for Re. 1 in India: 30,000 units sold in less than 5 seconds; how to get one now?OnePlus

OnePlus is just days away from officially launching OnePlus 3 in India, putting to rest all rumours and speculations surrounding the company's 2016 flagship. After launching OnePlus 2 through virtual reality (VR) for the first time, OnePlus is making its next flagship launch even more exciting.

The company has set up a virtual space station, where the unveiling of the new smartphone is expected to take place on June 14, and has given away thousands of specially-designed Loop VR headsets to fans. In India alone, the company sold 30,000 Loop VR headsets at Re. 1 in less than five seconds exclusively through two Amazon app-only flash sales.

"We are naturally elated at the response from the OnePlus community to obtain the Loop VR headsets to view the OnePlus 3 launch," Vikas Agarwal, general manager at OnePlus India, said in a statement on Tuesday.

In addition to the launch of the OnePlus 3 through VR, the company has also introduced apparently the world's first global shopping experience in VR, which would allow buyers to purchase the new handset during the first two hours of the launch exclusively on the Loop. The open sales for OnePlus 3 will begin on June 15 at 12:30 p.m. IST exclusively on

Those who missed the opportunity to purchase the Loop VR for Re. 1 stand the chance to get the headset for free. OnePlus has partnered with Glynk, a social networking platform that claims to bring like-minded people together, for another round of Loop VR giveaway through online contests and campaigns.

Glynk is currently running a contest where participants can win a Loop VR headset. The contest ends on June 12 and VR headset will be given to 100 participants. There are 20 VR headsets to be given away through the contest, and can be expected to be shipped on June 13, a day before the official launch of OnePlus 3.

Glynk is also connecting with young fans in colleges by offering 25 VR headsets through campus campaigns. The social media platform has hired campaign managers across 40 colleges in India to choose the winners.

OnePlus 3 launch will be live-streamed through its VR app, which users must download on their smartphones to watch it through VR headsets. Here is the launch schedule for OnePlus 3 in different locations and time zones.

New York: 12:30 p.m. EDT
San Francisco: 9:30 a.m. PDT
London: 5:30 p.m. BST
Paris: 6:30 p.m. CEST
Bengaluru: 10 p.m. IST
UTC/GMT: 4:30 p.m.