• Paulina Vega, Miss Universe Colombia 2014 is crowned the winner by Gabriela Isler, Miss Universe 2013, on stage at the conclusion of The 63rd Annual MISS UNIVERSEMiss Universe
  • Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler of Venezuela along with other contestants.Reuters
  • 2012: Olivia Culpo, USACreative Commons
  • 2011: Leila Lopes, AngolaCreative Commons
  • 2010: Jimena Navarrete, MexicoCreative Commons
  • 2009: Stefania Fernandez, VenezuelaCreative Commons
  • 2008: Dayana Mendoza, VenezuelaCreative Commons
  • 2007: Riyo Mori, JapanCreative Commons
  • 2006: Zuleyka Rivera, Puerto RicanCreative Commons
  • 2005: Natalie Glebova, CanadaCreative Commons
  • 2004: Jennifer Hawkins, AustraliaCreative Commons
  • 2003: Amelia Vega, Dominican RepublicCreative Commons
  • 2002: Justine Pasek, PanamaCreative Commons
  • 2001: Denise M. Quinones, Puerto RicoCreative Commons
  • 2000: Lara Dutta, IndiaReuters
  • 1999: Mpule Kwelagobe, BotswanaTwitter
  • 1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam, Trinidad and TobagoTwitter
  • 1997: Brook Lee, USACreative Commons
  • 1996: Alicia Machado, VenezuelaTwitter
  • 1995: Chelsi Smith, USATwitter
  • 1994: Sushmita Sen, IndiaReuters

Miss Colombia Paulina Vega was crowned Miss Universe 2014 in the 63rd edition of the competition on Sunday night in Miami, USA. She won the pageant after competing with 88 contestants.

The beauty queen became the first Miss Universe from Colombia since Luz Marina Zuluaga in 1958. She is also the first contestant to wear the newly-designed crown, created by Diamonds International Corporation (DIC).

According to tradition, Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler from Venezuela crowned the new winner. Meanwhile, Miss USA Nia Sanchez was named the first runner-up and Miss Ukraine Diana Harkusha was announced as the second runner-up.

Since 1952, the beauty pageant has been one of the most popular competitions worldwide. Along with Miss World and Miss Earth, Miss Universe is one of the three major beauty pageants.

Below is the list of the Miss Universe winners over the last 20 years. Also check out the slideshow above.

2014: Paulina Vega, Colombia

2013: Gabriela Isler, Venezuela

2012: Olivia Culpo, USA

2011: Leila Lopes, Angola

2010: Jimena Navarrete, Mexico

2009: Stefania Fernandez, Venezuela

2008: Dayana Mendoza, Venezuela

2007: Riyo Mori, Japan

2006: Zuleyka Rivera, Puerto Rican

2005: Natalie Glebova, Canada

2004: Jennifer Hawkins, Australia

2003: Amelia Vega, Dominican Republic

2002: Justine Pasek, Panama

2001: Denise M. Quinones, Puerto Rico

2000: Lara Dutta, India

1999: Mpule Kwelagobe, Botswana

1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam, Trinidad and Tobago

1997: Brook Lee, USA

1996: Alicia Machado, Venezuela

1995: Chelsi Smith, USA

1994: Sushmita Sen, India

Also read
Quick Links