shelly ann fraser
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce of Jamaica runs at the women's 100 metres final during the 15th IAAF World Championships at the National Stadium in Beijing, China, August 24, 2015.Reuters

Usain Bolt and Kendra Harrison hogged the limelight on Day 1 of the London Anniversary Games 2016 on Friday. While the veteran Jamaican sprinter bossed the men's 200m event with a time of 19.89 seconds, the American hurdler clinched a world record in the women's 100m hurdles event after recording a time of 12.20 seconds.

Day 2 of the IAAF Diamond League London 2016 sees two big stars once again -- Jamaican sprint queen Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Britain's best-ever long distance runner Mo Farah.

Fraser-Pryce, 29, is undoubtedly the female counterpart of Bolt currently. She became the first Caribbean woman to win the gold medal in Olympics in the Beijing games in 2008 and following that, she also defended her crown at the London 2012 Olympics.

A hot favourite to clinch the title again at the Rio Olympics 2016, all eyes will be on the Jamaican as she competes alongside Britain's Dina Asher-Smith and compatriots Remona Burchell and Christania Williams for a top draw finish in the women's 100m final race -- a warmup event ahead of the Rio games.

"For me, she's the ultimate athlete," Usain Bolt spoke of Fraser-Pryce to the CNN. "I've always respected her, we've come through the ranks together, through high school and everything, so I know what she's been through.

"She's proven it over and over again. I remember after she doubled in Russia (winning 100m and 200m gold at the 2013 Moscow World Championships) she asked me, 'How do you do it?' and I was like, 'Yo, if you want to be the best, you've got to step up and do great things.'

"So it's something she's learning and she's working to be the best," Bolt added.

mo farah
Great Britain's Mo Farah during the press conference ahead of London Anniversary Games 2016Reuters

Mo Farah, 33, will be seen in action in the men's 5000m final event. The Somalia-born British national, who won a double gold medal -- in the men's 10,000m event and the 5,000m event -- in the London Olympics in 2012, will be facing a steep resistance this time around from the Kenyan athletes in Rio de Janeiro.

He has had a decent calendar year so far as he bagged a victory in the men's 10,000m event at the IAAF Diamond League event in Eugene as well as a British 3,000m record at the Birmingham Diamond League, but Farah doesn't look satisfied with his performances so far.

"I haven't been satisfied," he said in a presser ahead of Day 2 of the London Anniversary Games 2016. "Birmingham, where I broke the British record, was okay but the rest have been average. I know I can do better but at the same time, it is what it is. I just have to get it right in Rio.

"People always think Mo is going double up at the Olympics, he's going to win the two golds. It ain't going to be that easy," Farah added. "The Kenyans aren't going to make it easy for me. They didn't make it easy for me in Cardiff and I'm sure it won't be easy in Rio."

London Anniversary Games day 2 schedule

Date: July 23

Women's 100m final: Expected time - 4:25 p.m. BST (8:55 p.m. IST, 11:25 a.m. EST)

Men's 5,000m final: Expected time - 4:35 p.m. BST (9:05 p.m. IST, 11:35 a.m. EST)

Where to watch live

India: TV: None. 

UK: TV: BBC One. Radio commentary: BBC Radio. 

US: TV: None.

Live streaming (for all countries): Official website.

Also read