Jurgen Klopp Liverpool
Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp during a preseason match against Tranmere Rovers, July 8, 2016Reuters

With the appointments of Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola at Manchester United and Manchester City respectively, Liverpool's preseason activities have gone a little under the radar, particularly with Jurgen Klopp yet to make too many marquee signing this summer. Liverpool have already played one preseason friendly, last Friday, with the more high-profile ones set to take place from the end of this month.

By then, Klopp will hope to have made all of his major signings, with so far, the manager bringing in Lorius Kraus, Joel Matip and Sadio Mane. While Mane moved from Southampton for a large fee of £34 million, it probably was not the signing that made most of the Reds fans sit up and take notice.

Liverpool have been linked with a few big names, including Gonzalo Higuain, Anderson Talisca and Mario Gotze, but for the here and now, it will be about using all the resources at Klopp's disposal as he tries to get everyone back to match fitness ahead of what promises to be a highly competitive Premier League season.

"It's always nice to see the very young lads in games like this and think 'oh!' because they make really big steps," Klopp told the club's official website after Liverpool's 1-0 win over Tranmere Rovers, courtesy a Danny Ings strike, last Friday. "That's good to see. The young boys only enjoy it, they have no pressure, and it's nice.

"But for all of the other players, they have to show a little bit to me and the crowd, and the opponent is hard and well organised. We need these moments in the pre-season to go through. If it's easy in each game in the pre-season, then we get the first problem in the first game in the Premier League.

"So we want to have the problems in the preseason and be well prepared in the Premier League."

Liverpool preseason schedule: Liverpool vs Tranmere Rovers on July 8 at Prenton Park (Liverpool won 1-0).

Liverpool vs Fleetwood Town.

Date: July 13.

Time: 7 p.m. BST (11.30 p.m. IST, 3 p.m. ET).

Venue: Highbury Stadium.

Liverpool vs Wigan Athletic.

Date: July 17.

Time: 4 p.m. BST (8.30 p.m. IST, 11 a.m. ET).

Venue: DW Stadium.

Liverpool vs Huddersfield Stadium.

Date: July 20.

Time: 7.45 p.m. BST (12.15 a.m. IST, 2.45 p.m. ET).

Venue: John Smith's Stadium.

Liverpool vs Chelsea – International Champions Cup.

Date: July 27.

Time: 8 p.m. local time (11 p.m. ET, 4 a.m. BST, 8.30 a.m. IST).

Venue: Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, California.

Liverpool vs AC Milan – International Champions Cup.

Date: July 30.

Time: 7 p.m. local time (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST).

Venue: Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

Liverpool vs Roma.

Date: August 1.

Time: 8.30 p.m. ET (1.30 a.m. BST, 6 a.m. IST).

Liverpool vs Barcelona – International Champions Cup.

Date: August 6.

Time: 5 p.m. BST (9.30 p.m. IST, 12 p.m. ET).

Liverpool vs Mainz.

Date: August 7.

Time: 3.45 p.m. local time (2.45 p.m. BST, 7.15 p.m. IST, 9.45 a.m. ET)

Venue: Opel Arena.

TV listings: All Liverpool's preseason matches will be available on LFC TV.

Also read