Pinarayi Vijayan
Pinarayi VijayanLDF Kerala

UPDATE: 7:15 p.m. IST —

Live updates:

6:21p.m.: Pinarayi Vijayan and his new Cabinet ministers have arrived for their first meeting. The meeting begins. 

6:05 p.m.: Pinarayi Vijayan has assumed office. 

5:49 p.m.: After the tea party, the ministers have left to the North Block of Government Secretariat in Thiruvananthapuram for the first Cabinet meeting.

5:33 p.m.: All Cabinet minister have arrived at the Raj Bhavan for the tea party, hosted by P Sathasivan. The Governor has individually greeted each one of the guests. 

5:20 p.m.: Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan and his family members have arrived at the Raj Bhavan.

4:53 p.m.: The new ministers will soon head to the Raj Bhavan, where the Governor will host a tea party for them.

4:47 p.m.: The swearing-in ceremony has come to an end.

4:45 p.m.: Dr. TM Thomas Issac has become the Finance Minister of the state for the second time. 

4:43 p.m.: First-time minister P Thilothamam has been sworn-in as the Minister for Food and Civil Supplies.

4:41 p.m.: VS Sunilkumar has taken oath as the Minister for Agriculture and Animal Husbandry of the state.

4:39 p.m.: G Sudhakaran has been sworn-in as the Minister for Public Works and Registration.

4:37 p.m.: KK Shailaja has become the Minister of Health and Social Welfare.

4:35 p.m.: C Raveendranath has taken oath as the Minister for Education in Kerala. He has worked as the chemistry professor in St Thomas college in Thrissur.

4:31 p.m.: TP Ramakrishnan has been sworn-in as the Minister for Excise and Labour. This is the first time he has become a minister. 

4:28 p.m.: Adv K Raju has become a minister for the first time as the Minister for Forest.  

4:26 p.m.: AC Moideen will handle the Corporation and Tourism departments of the Kerala government.

4:24 p.m.: Mercykuttyamma has taken oath as the Minister for Fisheries and Traditional Industries (coir).

4:22 p.m.: Kadakampally Surendran has been sworn-in as the Minister for Devaswom board and Electricity.

4:18 p.m.: EP Jayarajan has become the Minister for Industries and Sports in the state.

4:16 p.m.: KT Jaleel will handle Local Administration and this is the first time he will be serving as a minister.

4:14 p.m.: AK Balan has become the Minister for Welfare of Scheduled Tribes and Law.

4:11 p.m.: Ramachandran Kadannappalli has been sworn-in as the Minister for Ports. This is the third time he will be serving as a minister in the state. He is the state president of Congress (S).

4:09 p.m.: AK Saseendran has become the Minister for Transport in Kerala.

4:05 p.m.: Adv. Mathew T Thomas has taken oath as the Minister for Water Resources.

4:03 p.m.: E Chandrashekharan, 68, has been sworn-in as the Revenue Minister of the state.

4:01 p.m.: Pinarayi Vijayan has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Kerala. He will also handle IT,  Vigilance and Home affairs.

4:00 p.m.: Pinarayi Vijayan has been invited to the dais for the swearing-in ceremony. 

3:57 p.m.: The Governor P Sathasivam has arrived for the oath taking ceremony. The event began with the singing of the National Anthem.

3:50 p.m.: VS Achuthanandan has arrived in the stadium. Former Indian PM HD Deve Gowda and CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury welcomed the senior LDF leader.

3:40 p.m.: K. R. Gowri Amma, P. K. Kunhalikutty, actor-turned-MP Innocent, megastar Mammootty, Dileep, Madhu, and many other delegates have arrived at the venue in the capital city.

2:40 p.m.: Megastar Mammootty has arrived in Thiruvananthapuram.

2:30 p.m.: Preparations are on in full swing for the Kerala Cabinet swearing-in ceremony in Thiruvananthapuram.

Original Story

The swearing-in ceremony of Pinarayi Vijayan and 18 other ministers to the Kerala Assembly will be held at 4 p.m. at Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday, May 25. The Cabinet will have 12 ministers from CPI-M, including Vijayan, four from CPI, and one each from the Congress(S), NCP and JD(S). Nine of them will be sworn in as MLAs for the first time.

The Cabinet includes Thomas Issac, AK Balan, G Sudhakran, EP Jayarajan, KK Shailaja, AC Moideen, Kadakampally Surendran, , C Raveendranath, J Mercykutty Amma, KT Jaleel, VS. Sunil Kumar, E Chandrasekharan, P Thilothaman, K Raju, Mathew T Thomas, AK Saseendran and Ramachandran Kadannappalli.

Former Indian Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury, senior polit bureau member Prakash Karat, senior LDF leader VS Achuthanandan and other leaders of both LDF and UDF will attend the oath taking ceremony of the new Cabinet members on Wednesday. Megastar Mammootty and actor-turned-MP Innocent are also expected to attend the event.

As per the schedule, people who would like to witness the ceremony must arrive at the venue before 3:30 p.m. All the minister-designates will reach by 3:50 p.m. Kerala Governor P Sathasivam is expected to be there at 3:55 p.m. and will host the new ministry at Raj Bhavan after the oath-taking ceremony. The first Cabinet meeting of the government will be held at 6:30 p.m.

The Chief Minister-designate, Vijayan, handed over the list of his 19-member Cabinet to the Governor on Wednesday morning. The 72-year-old polit bureau member of CPI-M will be the 12th person to occupy the chair of Kerala CM. "The people of Kerala have high hopes in our new government and we will also rise to the occasion to make that a reality and deliver," Vijayan said after submitting his list of Cabinet ministers to the Governor.

The CPI-M led Left Democratic Front (LDF) had won 91 seats in the 140-member Kerala Assembly.

Also read