Atletico de Kolkata Kerala Blasters Hengbart David James
Kerala Blasters and Atletico de Kolkata will look to make history by becoming the first champions of the ISLISL Official Website

Sachin Tendulkar vs Sourav Ganguly – what better way to end the inaugural season of the Indian Super League, and what a fabulous season it has been, than with a clash between the teams – Kerala Blasters and Atletico de Kolkata -- owned by two of India's favourite cricketing sons.

Tendulkar is akin to God in the country and the sentiments for Ganguly are pretty much the same when it comes to his home state. While they might have been teammates for the longest time for the India cricket team, come Saturday they will be in completely different camps, egging on their respective teams to take that extra step and become the first champion of the ISL.

Kerala Blasters vs Atletico de Kolkata promises to be an intriguing clash as well, with both teams forcing plenty of nails to be bitten by their respective fans en route to this finale.

The Blasters only got to the semifinals by the skin of their teeth, and then threw away a three-goal lead in the semifinal second leg against Chennaiyin after a romp in the first leg, before scoring a dramatic late winner in true football style.

Those heart rates and adrenaline would have come down considerably after the unbelievable 4-3 aggregate victory over Chennaiyin, and David James and co. will hope for a more sanguine, calm and comfortable outing in the final.

All signs point to another humdinger of a cannot-predict-it clash, however, with Atletico de Kolkata, despite dipping in form in the second half of the ISL, showing plenty of know-how and grit to get to the final.

They got the desired result in their last game of the league phase, before thwarting FC Goa, a rampant FC Goa, for 180 minutes plus 30 minutes of extra time.

When it came to that nobody-wants-it penalty shootout, Atletico de Kolkata held their nerves brilliantly, while Goa's crumbled, to book that marquee clash with the Kerala Blasters.

Atletico de Kolkata have looked strong and sturdy in defence of late, while the Kerala Blasters' biggest strength this season has been their rearguard. While the Blasters might have allowed Chennaiyin to breach their fortress in the semifinal second leg, they will back themselves for a better defensive performance.

It will be up to Atletico de Kolkata to find their goalscoring mojo, with the team clearly missing the services of the effervescent Fikru Teferra, who will also miss the big final. You feel the first goal will be the most important, with both teams desperate to hit the back of the net early.

A final is always, always unpredictable and with all ISL teams so closely matched – anyone can beat anyone and by whatever margin on their day – the big question, without a clear answer, is very much like those Star Sports ads that have been going around for the last few days -- Who will be the 1st Champion?

Get the ISL Final Live Blog HERE

Schedule: Saturday, 20 December: Closing Ceremony (6 pm IST, 12.30 pm GMT, 7.30 am ET) at DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

Final (7 pm IST, 1.30 pm GMT, 8.30 am ET) at DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

Also read