Charlie Austin Southampton
Southampton striker Charlie Austin has been in great form this seasonReuters

After a difficult start to the season, Southampton have turned things around brilliantly in the Premier League and the south coast club will hope to take that confidence and form into their Europa League Group K match at the San Siro on Thursday.

Southampton are level on points with first-placed Hapoel Beer-Sheva, while Inter Milan are pointless, having lost both their matches in the Europa League so far.

Their form in the Serie A isn't that great either, having suffered two defeats in a row and the pressure is mounting on Frank de Boer, who needs a positive result to stop the alarming skid.

"It's always tough when you don't win," De Boer told reporters. "The results against Cagliari and Roma show that. We need to improve. We weren't expecting the last defeat and even though we have shown some good things, we still need to get better.

"We know we need to turn it around, because time is something you never have a lot in football."

Inter have lost to both Hapoel Beer-Sheva and Sparta Prague in the Europa League so far and one more defeat, to Southampton, will pretty much end their interest in Europe. So, this really is a must-win for the Italian side.

"The results aren't good at the moment," added De Boer, stating the obvious. "But we started from nothing and you need time to improve a team. We're improving. I have great confidence in my players and it is only a matter of time until the results start coming."

Claude Puel, who took over from Ronaldo Koeman at the start of the season, also took a while to get his Southampton team going. But now that he has, the Saints look like a formidable unit again, impressing in the Premier League and looking primed to top Inter Milan in their first ever meeting at one of the most iconic stadiums in the world.

"Always it's nice to play in big stadiums like San Siro," Southampton playmaker Dusan Tadic said. "It's special. I think everyone gets more motivation to play. I think it will be really nice to play here and to show our football.

"We are really excited to play here against a big team like Inter. We know it will be a really tough match, because they have a really good team and good coach, but I think we have prepared well for this game and we will see. We would like to take three points."

Where to Watch Live

Inter vs Southampton is set to begin at 7pm CET (6pm BST, 1pm ET, 10.30pm IST). Live streaming and TV information is below.

India: TV: Ten 1 HD and Ten 2. Live Streaming: Ten Sports live.

Italy: TV: Sky Sport 1 and Sky Calcio. Live Streaming: Sky Go Italia.

UK: TV: BT Sport 3. Live Streaming: Watch BT Sport.

USA: TV: Fox Sports 2. Live Streaming: Foxsoccer2go.

Canada, Middle East, Australia, France, Indonesia, North Africa, Philippines: TV: Bein Sports. Live Streaming: Bein Sports Connect.

Also read