MS Dhoni India
India skipper MS Dhoni will want to keep the winning momentum in the WT20 warmup games as wellIANS

All those chinks in the armoury will be what the teams will look to iron out in the warmup games of the ICC World T20 2016 that begin from Thursday. All eight of the teams that have automatically qualified for the Super 10 stage will play two practice games each – Australia being the only exception -- in a bid to gear themselves up as perfectly as possible.

India start their bid for the World T20 title at home with a warmup game against the West Indies, the 2012 champions, before finishing their practice match engagements against South Africa, a team they did not fare too well against in a T20 series last year.

From India's perspective, these two practice matches, against strong opponents, will also be a way of gauging Mohammad Shami's fitness.

Shami has not played a single international match since the 50-over World Cup last year, and yet the faith has been kept in him by MS Dhoni and the selectors. It remains to be seen if the latest injury – a hamstring pull – has healed enough for Shami to fully participate in the warmup matches, but if not, the selectors have a decision to take, because Bhuvneshwar Kumar was quite impressive in his only outing in the Asia Cup.

The defending champions Sri Lanka, desperate for some confidence and form will play New Zealand first up in a warmup game, before they face Pakistan in the cauldron-but-won't-be-much-of-that-for-this-match that is the Eden Gardens.

Australia are the only team who will play one practice match, instead of two, but then they will be a pretty confident unit coming into this World T20, having beaten a strong South Africa side in their own backyard.

At the end of the day, these warmup games are all about giving your entire 15 a run, making sure there are no tight bodies and everyone feels involved.

ICC World T20 2016 warmup matches schedule:

India vs West Indies

Date: Thursday, March 10.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka

Date: Thursday, March 10.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

New Zealand vs England

Date: Saturday, March 12.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Bengal vs Pakistan

Date: Saturday, March 12.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: Jadavpur University Campus in Kolkata.

India vs South Africa

Date: Saturday, March 12.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Australia vs West Indies

Date: Sunday, March 13.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

England vs Local Side

Date: Monday, March 14.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Date: Monday, March 14.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

South Africa vs Local Side

Date: Tuesday, March 15.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Also read