India World T20 team
India are favourites to win the 2016 World T20 title.IANS

One of the most anticipated cricket events — World T20 — is just two days away, with the competition starting Tuesday. Hosts India are set to take on New Zealand in the opener Tuesday at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur.

Ten teams will participate in the tournament, which is expected to be a cracker and entertain viewers all around the world with some wonderful cricket. The 10 teams are divided into two groups, with the top two teams from each group reaching the semifinals of the World T20.

With India as hosts of the World T20, the pitches are expected to favour batsmen much more than other countries, so the entertainment factor will be even higher, with a flurry of boundaries and sixes to treat TV viewers and those present in the respective stadium.

India start the competition as favourites. MS Dhoni and his men are most feared in the competition, having played some stupendous cricket in the tournament and won their last three T20 series against Australia, Sri Lanka and also the Asia Cup.

Add to it the home conditions and players such as Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in fine form, and no wonder India are the team to beat. However, they can't afford to take it easy in the competition as anything is possible in the shortest format of the game.

Teams like New Zealand, South Africa and Australia are always going to be a strong contenders for the title. They have some exceptional players in their ranks to help them emerge victorious.

New Zealand, with ferocious hitters like Martin Guptill and Corey Anderson in prime form, are going to be a strong force in the competition. The same can be said for Australia with Shane Watson, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell and South Africa with AB de Villiers, Quinotn de Kock and David Miller. South Africa, Australia and New Zealand have a good bowling attack, which strengthens their respective teams in the World T20.

Sri Lanka and England are strong teams, while Pakistan always possess some talented players. All the participating teams in the World T20 are strong, and if they play to their full potential, anything is possible in the competition.

A number of teams like Ireland, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Zimbabwe, were involved in the World T20 qualifiers to book their place in the Super-10. Afghanistan sealed their place from one of the two groups while Bangladesh sealed the final spot, defeating Oman, Sunday.

Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and Afghanistan

Group 2 – India, New Zealand, Pakistan Australia, Bangladesh

Complete Fixtures for 2016 World T20

MatchMatchVenueDateTime 
 1 New Zealand vs India Nagpur March 15 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
 2 Pakistan vs Bangladesh Kolkata March 16  3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
 3 West Indies vs England Mumbai March 16 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10a.m. ET
4 Sri Lanka vs Afghnaistan Kolkata March 17 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
5 Australia vs New Zealand Dharamsala March 18  3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
6 South Africa vs England Mumbai March 18  7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
7 India vs Pakistan Kolkata March 19 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
8 South Africa vs Afghnaistan Mumbai March 20 3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
9 Sri Lanka vs West Indies Bengaluru March 20 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
10 Australia vs Bangladesh Bengaluru March 21 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
11 New Zealand vs Pakistan Mohali March 22 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
12 England vs Afghanistan New Delhi March 23 3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
13 India v Bangladesh Bengaluru March 23 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
14 Pakistan vs Australia Mohali March 25 3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
15 South Africa vs West Indies Nagpur March 25 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
16 Bangladesh vs New Zealand Kolkata March 26 3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
17 England vs Sri Lanka New Delhi March 26 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
18 Afghanistan vs West Indies Nagpur March 27 3 p.m IST (9:30a.m GMT, 5:30 a.m ET)
19 India vs Australia Mohali March 27 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
20 South Africa vs Sri Lanka New Delhi March 28 7:30 p.m IST (2 p.m. GMT, 10 a.m. ET)
1st SF(21) Group 2 1st vs Group 1 2nd New Delhi March 30 7 p.m IST (1:30 p.m. GMT, 9:30 a.m. ET)
2nd SF(22) Group 1 1st vs Group 2 2nd Mumbai March 31 7 p.m IST (1:30 p.m. GMT, 9:30 a.m. ET)
Final (23) TBA vs TBA Kolkata April 3 7 p.m IST (1:30 p.m. GMT, 9:30 a.m. ET)

TV listings: India and Sri Lanka: Star Sports. Bangaldesh: Star Sports and BTV. Pakistan: PTV and Star Sports. Sri Lanka:  The UK: Sky Sports. The US: WIllow TV. South Africa: Supersport. Middle East: OSN Sports. 

Also read