HTC smartphones are displayed in a mobile phone shop in Taipei April 8, 2013. (Representational photo)REUTERS/Pichi Chuang

HTC has remained mum on its upcoming flagship device, the HTC 10 aka HTC One M10, all this while but that hasn't stopped details, including release date and specifications, from being leaked. Now, it has emerged that the device will be launched next month.

It was earlier reported that the HTC 10 would be announced at last month's Mobile World Congress before another report suggested that it would be unveiled at a special event in March. The company has confirmed an event to be held on April 12 (8 a.m. in New York, 1 p.m. in London and 8 p.m. in Taipei ), and the #powerof10 has given a strong hint that the much-awaited HTC 10 will be unveiled at the event.

HTC is yet to announce the release date of HTC One M9 successor but Chinese website EPrice (via GSMArena) has claimed that it will be released in the company's home country Taiwan April 15.

It has been reported that the HTC 10 will come with features like a 5.1-inch or 5.2-inch screen with 1,440x2,560 pixels, a Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 processor, an Adreno 530 GPU, an Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow with HTC Sense 8.0 UI, a 64/128GB internal storage with microSD card slot, a 4GB RAM and a 23MP main camera.

However, Evan Blass @evleaks tweeted that the upcoming flagship device will sport a super LCD 5 display (not AMOLED) and a 3,000mAh battery. Leakster LlabTooFeR also tweeted that the new device will house a Sony IMX377 12MP main camera and a 5MP UltraPixel front-snapper. 

Also read