Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton drives during the qualifying session of the Spanish Grand Prix.Reuters

The Circuit de Monaco has been a happy hunting ground for Mercedes in the past two years, with Michael Schumacher securing pole position in 2012 and Nico Rosberg winning last year's grand prix from the front.

But the tightness of the track, slow corners and high downforce nature might neutralise Mercedes' speed advantage they have had in the first five races of the races of the season.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso reckons Monaco is one of the few places where other teams can challenge the Silver Arrows. He insisted Red Bull is the favourite to challenge Mercedes because of its superior cornering performance.

"I think Monte Carlo will be one of the few possibilities to challenge Mercedes, especially for Red Bull," Alonso said. "In the corners they [Red Bull] are very fast but on the straights they seem to lose a lot of lap time. In Monte Carlo there are no straights so Red Bull could challenge Mercedes."

Alonso is hoping for a strong weekend for Ferrari and stressed the team will be fighting to score good points and close the gap on rivals.

"It's true the world championship is in their [Mercedes'] hands," Alonso said. "They have a big advantage, but I think it's not any different to any sport, or any racing over the years - we can fight. We need to have a strong weekend and get some good points."

Last year's winner and second in the drivers' championship, Rosberg is expecting Mercedes to remain quick in Monaco as well, but added the gap will be a lot less compared to other races.

"The gap - they might be a lot closer to us this weekend and we need to wait and see if we are the fastest and the chances are we will be, so I look forward it and hope to have a fantastic weekend again," Rosberg said.

Championship leader Lewis Hamilton, who has won four consecutive races this season, is certain Mercedes will continue their good form in Monaco as well. "The car has been strong at every race so far and I'm sure it'll be the same in Monaco, so we should be set for an entertaining weekend," Hamilton said.

Where to Watch Live:

First Practice Session (Thursday): 10:00 am local time, 13.30 pm IST, 8:00 am GMT

Second Practice Session (Thursday): 14:00 pm local time, 17:30 pm IST, 12:00 pm GMT

Final Practice Session (Saturday): 11:00 am local time, 14:30 pm IST, 9:00 am GMT

Country TV Broadcaster
India Star Sports 4, Star Sports HD2
US NBC (Practice 2)
Canada TSN 2 (Practice 2)
United Kingdom BBC, Sky Sports
Middle East and North Africa Bein Sports Arabia
Germany, Italy Sky Sport
France Canal+
Asia Fox Sports
Country Online links
India HERE
Middle East HERE
Germany and Italy HERE or HERE