Only time will say if the next FIFA president can do justice to the statement "We care about football" Pictured: Gianni InfantinoReuters

The end of Friday sees a new FIFA President and the anticipation is at an all-time high. Well, not really though. After what we witnessed during the tenure of Sepp Blatter and the plenty of occasions where FIFA made the headlines for all the wrong reasons, we may not be that excited even for the FIFA presidential election 2016.

Having said that, the prospect of having the torch of the world football governing body being passed on to someone else does bring up a sense of positivity among the football critics and the fans alike.

Five candidates -- Sheikh Salman bin Ebrahim al-Khalifa, Gianni Infantino, Prince Ali bin al-Hussein, Tokyo Sexwale and Jerome Champagne -- will be up against each other, hoping on becoming the next big thing in the world football, come Friday.

CLICK HERE to know more about the candidates.

The five FIFA presidential hopefuls will be given 15 minutes to address the FIFA Congress prior to the start of the voting process, explaining their manifesto as well as their vision ahead for FIFA.

Member associations from CONCACAF, UEFA, AFC, OFC, CAF and CONMEBOL make up the 207-voter list (excluding Kuwait and Indonesia) for the FIFA Election 2016. AFC Presdient Sheikh Salman and UEFA General-Secretary Gianni Infantino are being regarded as the front-runners to bag the honours, but for the official confirmation, we need to wait for some more hours.

FIFA Presidential Election 2016 schedule:

Date: Feb. 26, 2016.

Time: The first round of voting is supposed to start at 1:30 p.m. GMT (7 p.m. IST, 8:30 a.m. EST). The result could be declared by about 5:30 p.m. GMT (11 p.m. IST, 12:30 p.m. EST).

Venue: Hallenstadion in Zurich, Switzerland.

Live stream: FIFA website, YouTube.

Also read