europa league
The first leg Europa League 2016-17 clash between the team turned out to be a 4-1 win for Manchester UnitedReuters

Both Fenerbahce and Manchester United have a similar record in the Europa League 2016-17 group stage and it will be interesting to find what comes out of their return leg clash in the competition on Thursday. The last time the two sides clashed in the competition, it was Jose Mourinho's men who thrashed the Turkish side 4-1 at Old Trafford to pick up a memorable win.

Paul Pogba remained the star of the game and was one of his best matches so far since returning for United for a second stint. 

Can the Frenchman do magic once again or Wednesday or is it the time for Robin van Persie to turn back the years and create a sizzling display of his own in Istanbul? The two sides last encountered in the Turkish city in 2004 and it was Fenerbahce's Tuncay Sanli who had hogged all the limelight following his hat-trick, which also helped in the Turkish side thrashing Sir Alex Ferguson's men 3-0.

For this match, United defender Phil Jones has made it to the squad and could be set for his first appearance in any competition this season. He hasn't featured for the Red Devils since January 2. Jones' compatriot Chris Smalling however is not available owing to injury while Eric Bailly, Michael Carrick, Antonio Valencia and winger Memphis Depay are also out.

For Fenerbahce meanwhile, the occasion is historic as they are set to play their 100th UEFA Cup/Europa League game on Thursday. The two teams have made seven times so far and United have a 3-2 advantage.


Fenerbahce vs Manchester United is scheduled to kick off at 7 p.m. BST (11:30 p.m. IST, 2 p.m. EST) on November 3.

How to watch

India: TV: Ten 2, Ten 1 HD. Live streaming: Ten Sports live.

UK: TV: BT Sport 3. Live streaming: BT Sport live.

USA: TV: ESPN Deportes, Fox Sports 1. Live streaming: Fox Sports Go, Watch ESPN.

Turkey: TV - Idman TV.