Facebook hoax busted: 'All your posts can become public tomorrow' privacy notice is fake
Facebook hoax busted: 'All your posts can become public tomorrow' privacy notice is fakeReuters

Facebook users are being treated to another legit-looking privacy notice on their feeds for the last few days. The privacy notice, which users are sharing on their walls to prevent Facebook from making their privacy posts public, has been around for years now, but for some reason has started making the rounds.

Over the last few days several updates on Facebook claimed that users will have to pay a fee, and that the company has apparently released the new "price grid." However, the update is a hoax as Facebook has made no such announcement.

Since 2012, similar reports stated that Facebook issued a "legal"-sounding message about user's privacy, as the company was planning to make private posts public, the Indian Express reported.

Facebook's privacy notice is a hoax.

Below is the latest "copyright declaration" by Facebook:

All your posts can become public tomorrow . Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste...Better safe than sorry is right. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).
NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.
DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.

If users are concerned about their privacy on Facebook, there are settings that limit strangers from accessing any posts, photos or content that has been shared by you. The Privacy Settings option, which can be accessed from the top right hand menu, allows users to review posts, limit the audience for posts, choose who can send friend requests, lookup using the email address, phone number provided on the profile. In fact, Facebook allows users to block specific people on the platform.

Quick Links