Adam Lallana Liverpool Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain Arsenal
Arsenal vs Liverpool should be a cracker of a contestReuters

Arsenal vs Liverpool is the headline match of this weekend's action in the English Premier League, while Manchester United and Manchester City look to maintain their perfect start to the new campaign, with champions Chelsea hunting their first win of the season.

The Premier League has already thrown up some shock results and plenty of drama in the first couple of weekends, with this third one promising more of the same.

Manchester United open up the weekend by hosting Newcastle United at Old Trafford, and while most of the fans are still not convinced by the manner in which the six points have come from the first two matches, they will, undoubtedly, take another victory over a brilliant-performance-but-no-three-points result.

Newcastle are still looking for their first win of the season, having drawn one and lost the other, and Steve McLaren, who signed the exciting Florian Thavin this week, will be desperate to get that win monkey off his back in this match.

The Manchester United vs Newcastle match will be followed by five 3 pm (local time) kickoffs, with Tottenham another team looking for their first win when they visit Leicester City, one of only four sides this season to have started with two wins from two matches.

Norwich City vs Stoke City could provide a few goals (who would have said that a few seasons ago aye), while Sunderland vs Swansea City should be another interesting one to keep an eye one, considering how different the sides' starts have been.

Sunday should also provide a few goals and thrills, with Chelsea first playing away to West Bromwich Albion, who, like their opponents, have managed just one point from two matches.

No matter what Jose Mourinho said, Chelsea were played out of the park by Manchester City in their last match, and having shown their defensive frailties against Swansea as well, that particular aspect will be the one of most concern to the manager.

With West Brom still struggling for form, however, Chelsea should be able to come away with three points from the Hawthorns.

Manchester City then face Everton at Goodison Park, with this one promising to be another goalfest. Romelu Lukaku looked in the mood against Southampton in the last game, and if the Belgium international keeps his mojo going, City will struggle to keep their third straight cleansheet.

Watford vs Southampton, a battle of two teams who are yet to taste victory, is the third match on Sunday.

The best has been kept for the last in the third round of fixtures, with Arsenal vs Liverpool at the Emirates expected to be a humdinger of a match. Liverpool have looked quite decent defensively, keeping two cleansheets in their twin 1-0 victories, while Arsenal looked more like Arsenal in their 2-1 win over Crystal Palace last Sunday, after that awful 2-0 loss to West Ham on the opening weekend of the Premier League.

Saturday, 22 August 2015: Manchester United v Newcastle (12:45 pm BST, 5.15 pm IST, 7.45 am ET) at Old Trafford

Crystal Palace vs Aston Villa (3 pm BST, 7.30 pm IST, 10 am ET) at Selhurst Park

Leicester City vs Tottenham (3 pm BST, 7.30 pm IST, 10 am ET) at King Power Stadium

Norwich City vs Stoke City (3 pm BST, 7.30 pm IST, 10 am ET) at Carrow Road

Sunderland vs Swansea City (3 pm BST, 7.30 pm IST, 10 am ET) at Stadium of Light

West Ham vs Bournemouth (3 pm BST, 7.30 pm IST, 10 am ET) at Boleyn Ground

Sunday, 23 August 2015: West Brom vs Chelsea (1.30 pm BST, 6 pm IST, 8.30 am ET) at The Hawthorns

Everton vs Manchester City (4 pm BST, 8.30 pm IST, 11 am ET) at Goodison Park

Watford vs Southampton (4 pm BST, 8.30 pm IST, 11 am ET) at Vicarage Road

Monday, 24 August 2015: Arsenal vs Liverpool (8 pm BST, 12.30 am IST, 3 pm ET) at Emirates Stadium.

Also read