Lionel Messi Argentina
Lionel Messi will be expected to deliver for Argentina in the Copa America Centenario semifinals against USA. Pictured: Messi during the quarterfinal match against Venezuela, June 18, 2016Reuters

Four teams are all that is left as the battle for the Copa America Centenario title reaches its climax. The hosts are still in it to win it, and so are the defending champions Chile. Colombia will fancy their chances, but all eyes will be on Argentina, who have been the standout team of the tournament, the first round of group stage matches.

Lionel Messi is now just two wins away from winning his first major trophy for his country, and the Barcelona man will be keen to shine in the semifinals and, if Argentina reach it, the final. However, with the other three teams in strong form as well, especially Chile, a title for Messi and co. is far from a foregone conclusion.

Below is the schedule for the two semifinals, with TV listings, dates, time and venues.

Semifinal 1: USA vs Argentina: The Americans have reached the semifinals of the tournament they are hosting, which was the main target for the team when they started. Now that, that target has been achieved, the USMNT, who picked up an impressive win over Ecuador in the quarterfinals, will be hungry for more. But, with several players suspended and considering they are playing the tournament favourites, a win on Tuesday might just be beyond them.

Having said that, though, Argentina will know all the pressure is on them, because they will be expected to waltz past the Americans. There is a reason why Argentina are the favourites, though – they have scored 14 goals so far in four matches, and conceded just two. With Messi looking like he has recovered from the back problem which kept him out of the first match of the Copa America Centenario and restricted him to a substitute in the next two, signs are ominous for their opponents. Messi was a starter in the quarterfinal against Venezuela, scoring the third goal, after Gonzalo Higuain netted the first two, with Erik Lamela rounding things off nicely.

Date: Tuesday, June 21.

Time: 9 p.m. ET (2 a.m. BST, 6.30 a.m. IST).

Venue: NRG Stadium, Houston.

Semifinal 2: Colombia vs Chile: Colombia were lucky to scrape through to the semifinals on penalties, while Chile picked up the most impressive result in the Copa America Centenario so far – a 7-0 thumping of the in-form Mexico. Chile have flattered to deceive, more often than not, since Juan Antonio Pizzi has taken over, but they finally seem to be gelling as a unit and are peaking at the right time. Alexis Sanchez has looked good and so has Arturo Vidal, but it is Eduardo Vargas who has really caught the eye. If he continues his goalscoring form, Colombia will be in trouble.

But then, Colombia have their own star players, particularly James Rodriguez, who needs to have a really good game against Chile.

Date: Wednesday, June 22.

Time: 8 p.m. ET (1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST).

Venue: Soldier Field, Chicago.

TV listings: India: Sony ESPN /HD. USA: Fox Sports and Univision. Mexico: TDN, Azteca and Canal 5. South America and Latin America: DirectTV. Spain: Canal+. Canada: Univision. UK: Premier Sports. Singapore: Singtel. Hong Kong: Now TV. Thailand: True Sport. France and Australia: Bein Sports.

Also read
Quick Links