Arsenal FA Cup Trophy
Arsenal will want to entertain the Singapore crowd at the Barclays Asia Trophy 2015Reuters

Arsenal, Everton, Stoke City and Singapore Select XI – the four teams that will take part in the Barclays Asia Trophy 2015 starting Wednesday.

It is a small preseason tournament – nothing like the International Champions Cup – with all four teams playing two matches each.

Everton and Stoke City kick off the Barclays Asia Trophy 2015 with the first match on Wednesday, before the team that most of Singapore will want to see in this tournament – Arsenal – play a Singapore Select XI side later in the evening.

"I'm happy to be in Singapore," Wenger said. "I have been here before, I know it's a very good place, a very safe place and usually things are well organised.

"So, we can hope to have a good combination of competition and preparation in our training sessions, as well as good conditions in our hotel, which is important."

Arsenal have the Emirates Cup to finish off their preseason campaign, and while they have made one of the most exciting signings in Petr Cech this season, it is Stoke who have made the bulk of the moves in the summer transfer window, when compared to the other two Premier League sides.

Mark Hughes, the Stoke manager, has already signed Glen Johnson, Jakob Haugaard, Phillipp Wollscheid, Joselu, Shay Given and Marko van Ginkel, and while they have lost two key players in Asmir Begovic, to Chelsea, and Steven Nzonzi, to Sevilla, the team do look primed for a top-ten finish this season.

"Preseason is about getting the fitness levels right and making sure we are ready for the first league fixture against Liverpool," Stoke skipper Ryan Shawcross told the club's official website.

"But, when any professional player steps on to the pitch they want to win the game, and we are absolutely no different to anyone else.

"We want to go out there on Wednesday, perform well and win the game, if possible and stamp our mark for the new season."

Everton did not have the greatest of seasons last time, and Roberto Martinez will want his team to prepare themselves as well as possible, ahead of another Premier League season. Everton could very well be competing with Stoke for European places next season, and this match in the Premier League Asia Trophy should stand both teams in good stead.

The Barclays Asia Trophy 2015 – or Premier League Asia Trophy 2015 -- is also an opportunity for the local team – this time the Singapore Select XI – to compete against the big boys of the Premier League, and what better way to learn than to play one of the biggest teams in the world in Arsenal first up, followed by one of Everton or Stoke.

Barclays Asia Trophy 2015 Schedule: 15 July: Match 1: Everton vs Stoke City (6 pm local time, 3.30 pm IST, 11 am BST, 6 am ET) at National Stadium, Singapore.

15 July: Match 2: Arsenal vs Singapore Select XI (8.30 pm local time, 6 pm IST, 1.30 pm BST, 8.30 am ET) at National Stadium, Singapore.

18 July: Third-place playoff: Losing team from Match 1 vs Losing team from Match 2 (6 pm local time, 3.30 pm IST, 11 am BST, 6 am ET) at National Stadium, Singapore.

18 July: Final: Winning team from Match 1 vs Winning team from Match 2 (8.30 pm local time, 6 pm IST, 1.30 pm BST, 8.30 am ET).

Also read