Barcelona Lionel Messi Gerard Pique
Lionel Messi is expected to inspire Barcelona to another trophy when they play Sevilla in the UEFA Super Cup 2015Reuters

Barcelona, after their outstanding season last time around, will look for their first trophy of the new campaign when they play fellow Spanish side Sevilla in the UEFA Super Cup in Tbilisi.

Luis Enrique's men were in unstoppable form last season, with that irresistible trio of Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Neymar rendering any goal their opponent scored pointless, considering the sheer firepower at their disposal.

As long as the trio stay fit and healthy, there is no reason why Barcelona cannot win every trophy they play for this season.

While all the attention will be on that wonderfully-gifted attacking trio, this UEFA Super Cup – played between the winners of the Champions League and Europa League from last season -- will also be a special one for midfielder Barcelona Ivan Rakitic, who plays against his former team.

Rakitic would have been a part of the UEFA Super Cup last season, had he stayed in Seville, but owing to his move to Barcelona, he has had to wait 12 months to savour the special match.

"It's a little bittersweet," Rakitic told UEFA's official website. "I have to thank my teammates and club for giving me this chance. What I lost last season, I now have this year -- and the desire is much greater as a result.

"I've had to wait another year for this moment. Starting the season, or having the possibility to start the season, with a trophy is even better. And it's sweeter still because it's against my Sevilla."

Obviously, Barcelona will go into this match as the heavy favourite, but as Sevilla keep showing season after season, in Europe, they are always a team to be reckoned with. Sevilla lost last year's UEFA Super Cup to Real Madrid, and they are determined to ensure disappointment does not follow them for a second consecutive year.

"It would be brilliant to win this competition against Barca as they are European champions and also won the treble," Sevilla midfielder, who is on loan from Barcelona, Denis Suarez said. "It would be absolutely tremendous for us and our fans.

"For us it is a dream to be here and taking part in a big final against Barca. It will be a special match for me because I played for Barca -- it is where everyone taught me to always strive for first place.

"They will be favourites but I believe it will be competitive and that we'll have chances to win. I hope we manage to beat them."

If Suarez, Messi and Neymar click, though, there will be only one winner.

UEFA Super Cup Schedule: 11 August, Tuesday Barcelona vs Sevilla (8.45 pm CET, 7.45 pm BST, 2.45 pm ET, 12.15 am IST next day) at Boris Paichadze Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi.

Also read