Bayern Munich
Bayern Munich will look to get over the disappointment of losing the German Supercup to Wolfsburg when the Audi Cup 2015 comes callingReuters

Bayern Munich will host Real Madrid, AC Milan and Tottenham Hotspur in the Audi Cup 2015, starting Tuesday.

The German champions are still reeling from the Supercup loss to Wolfsburg on Saturday, where former Arsenal striker Nicklas Bendtner scored a late equaliser, before smashing the winning penalty to give the Cup winners and the runners-up from last season the first trophy of the new campaign.

"Obviously the Bundesliga, Cup and Champions League are more important but a trophy is a trophy," a disappointed Pep Guardiola told the club's official website after the loss to Wolfsburg.

"It's a shame. We did well and made chances. All my players battled away and covered lots of ground. We had plenty of chances. We did everything we could to win the match, but congratulations to Wolfsburg, who also did very well."

Pep Guardiola and Bayern Munich will now look to bounce back and regain some confidence ahead of the start of the season in less than two weeks with a couple of wins in their home preseason tournament at the Allianz Arena.

Real Madrid open the Audi Cup 2015 with a match against Premier League side Tottenham – a game which will see Gareth Bale play his former team -- before Bayern Munich host AC Milan in the second match on Tuesday.

The losing sides of the first two matches will then play a in a third-place playoff on Wednesday, before the final between the two winning teams will take centre-stage later in the day.

Bayern Munich vs Real Madrid will be the match that most will want to see in the final, and Rafa Benitez's men will target another preseason trophy, having won the Australia and China leg of the International Champions Cup, with the latter coming via a penalty shootout victory over Milan.

"The overall assessment is very positive on a tour of these characteristics," Benitez said after Real's win over Milan last week. "The team deserves praise for their attitude, for their good play and for the results it has picked up.

"We're going to work hard, we're going to show desire and we're going to be all out to do the right things, showing common sense, and from there the quality of the players is what makes the difference."

Spurs are coming off a loss to the MLS All-Stars in the US, and with the Premier League opener against Manchester United just a few days away, Mauricio Pochettino will want to use these two matches in the Audi Cup 2015 to iron out all the chinks in their armour.

"It was a very tough game, a close game, with lots of chances on both sides," Tottenham's new signing Kevin Wimmer told Spurs TV after the 2-1 loss to MLS All-Stars last Wednesday.

"I think we had enough chances to win the game on Wednesday and I think we were a bit unlucky that we lost, but we are going in the right direction.

"We always try to improve and now we are very focused and looking forward to Munich and the season starting next week."

Audi Cup 2015 Schedule: Tuesday, 4 August: Real Madrid vs Tottenham (6.15 pm local time, 9.45 pm IST, 5.15 pm BST, 12.15 pm ET) at Allianz Arena.

Tuesday, 4 August: Bayern Munich vs AC Milan (8.45 pm local time, 12.15 am IST, 7.45 pm BST, 2.45 pm ET) at Allianz Arena.

Wednesday, 5 August: Third-place playoff (6.15 pm local time, 9.45 pm IST, 5.15 pm BST, 12.15 pm ET) at Allianz Arena.

Wednesday, 5 August: Final (8.45 pm local time, 12.15 am IST, 7.45 pm BST, 2.45 pm ET) at Allianz Arena.

Also read
Quick Links