Apple iStore
A general view of an Apple store in the Manhattan borough of New York September 7, 2014, ahead of the expected release of iPhone 6 and other products this week. REUTERS/Carlo AllegriREUTERS/Carlo Allegri

Last month, Apple Inc released the flagship iPhone 6 series smartphones and now the company is gearing up for the launch of new generation iPad series slated for next week.

Apple has reportedly begun sending out invites to select media houses for an event scheduled on 16 October at Apple's Cupertino headquarters in California at 10am PT/1pm ET (10:30pm IST).

The invitation (courtesy, Mashable) just reads, "It's been way too long." It does not give away any hint on the significance of the upcoming event, but anybody with a brain can guess that the stage is set for Apple's new iPad Air 2 (aka iPad 6) and iPad Mini 3, cause for past two years, the American company has been releasing new iPad series tablets in this time-frame.

As far as Apple iPad Air 2 specifications is concerned, it is expected to come with major upgrade internal hardware and also a third new gold colour variant similar to iPhone 6 series. It reportedly sport 9.7-inch retina display, packed with second-generation 64-bit architecture-based 20-nm class A8 CPU, 2GB RAM, Touch-ID fingerprint sensor, 8.0-megapixel rear-side camera, FaceTime HD front-camera and is said to come in three storage variants - 16GB, 32GB and 128GB models with colour options - gold, silver grey and black.

On the other hand, new Apple iPad Mini is said to feature same internal hardware sans the screen size.

Leaked Specifications of Apple iPad Air 2 aka iPad 6:

Model Apple iPad Air 2 aka iPad 6
Display 9.7-inch retina display
OS updated version of iOS 8.0
Processor 64-bit architecture based A8 CPU
Storage capacity 32GB/64GB/128GB
Camera Main: 8.0-megapixel cameraFront: FaceTime HD camera
Add-ons Touch-ID finger print sensor, 0.5 slimmer than iPad Air
Also read
Quick Links