Cristiano Ronaldo Karim Benzema Real Madrid
Real Madrid forwards Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema celebrate a goal against Athletic Bilbao, October 23, 2016Reuters

Real Madrid will look to keep their lead at the top of the La Liga table with victory over Alaves on Saturday. While Sevilla play in the early game on Saturday, both Atletico Madrid and Barcelona are on only later in the day, which means Real Madrid can ramp up the pressure on their title rivals with three points against Alaves.

It won't come easy, though, considering Alaves are a side yet to taste defeat at home. They currently sit only 13th in the table, but Alaves have proven to be a really difficult side to beat on their own turf.

Real Madrid, of course, are one of the best teams in Spain, and if they play up to their potential, they should be able to return to the capital with three points, no matter how well Alaves might perform.

"I'm expecting a difficult, complicated game," Real Madrid manager Zinedine Zidane said. "They are unbeaten at home and doing really well. We know how difficult the game will be and what we have to do is recognise how difficult it will be.

"If we bear that in mind and give the required level of concentration, as we have been doing recently, then things will be different. That is our thinking in preparation for the game."

Zidane has had to deal with quite a few injuries this season, so the fact that Real Madrid find themselves top of the table, albeit in such an early phase of the campaign, will be pleasing. Maintaining that consistency and finding ways to win, like they did against Athletic Bilbao last weekend, will be the key going forward for this side.

"The players are aware that if we want something at the end of the season we have to do as we are doing now in every single game," Zidane added. "This will help us to do big things. On the other hand, if we go into (the Alaves) game thinking we are going to win (we could be in trouble). We are focussed on what we have to do. This week has been good, but every games is different."

Real will again be without Sergio Ramos, Casemiro and Luka Modric, but Zidane will hope even without those three key players, his team will have enough solidity at the back and more than enough firepower up front to get the right result.

Cristiano Ronaldo is not in the best of goalscoring forms at the moment, but then such is the quality of the Real Madrid superstar that you would expect him to make an impact, especially if his team are in a tight spot.

Where to Watch Live

Alaves vs Real Madrid is set to begin at 4.15pm CET (7.45pm IST, 3.15pm BST, 10.15am ET). Live Streaming and TV information is below.

India TV: Sony Six and Sony Six HD. Live Streaming: Sonyliv.

Spain: TV: Movistar and Bein Sports.

USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, France, Middle East, Malaysia, Thailand: TV: Bein Sports. Live Streaming: Bein Sports Connect.

Also read
Quick Links